On Wednesday evening of this week, I missed a fight for the first time.  In almost thirty years of flying I have never missed a flight.  I was to catch a flight from Ronald Regan Airport to Detroit Metro to spend time in Michigan, a well-worn routine.  While this summer flight to Michigan generally happens in August, part of the reasoning for an early trip was needing to get to Lake Ann  Camp next week to speak to the Alpha week of Reborn Rangers 2012, a special leadership program that has run each summer since 1999; the other reason, because my family was already planning on being at the Watchtower in the Upper Peninsula (the lake house in the middle of nowhere) and extra travel on their part to retrieve me wasn’t going to happen on my account.  In preparation for this  flight, I made sure to do two things: (1) to book a cab ahead of time, and (2) check with the TSA to make sure that I was allowed to pack a toy lightsaber into my carry-on bag for use at Lake Ann Camp later on.  I checked with the TSA and booked the cab; that cab never arrived. The company tried to track it down, never did, and sent another cab.  This second cab whisked me away to the airport, but to no avail; TSA security took their time making me wait for a special screening – since I can’t go through detectors – and did nothing when I clearly heard my name being called for this flight to Michigan, which happened to be the last flight to Michigan for the night.  Rushing to the gate was an exercise in futility as I realized the door was closed and the plane moments from pulling away.

“When is the earliest flight tomorrow?” I asked the girl behind the Delta counter. “6 am, and you might want to be on that one”, she replied.  Calling my Dad, I explained the situation and after conferring with him, elected for the 6 am flight.  With my next move decided, I grabbed my bags and walker and slowly made my way out of the airport to a cab, feeling a bit deflated and defeated as the cab drove me home to The Sanctum.  Upon arrival home, an out of state friend calls and I explain the situation, considering the possibility that there was a reason I missed that flight beyond a cab driver’s mistake; her affirmation was simple “there’s probably someone you’re supposed to meet tomorrow” and I left it at that.  Later that evening I posted about the debacle on Facebook and a friend mentioned “sounds like you might be living an episode of Touch”; the FOX show about an autistic boy who can see the connections between people – expressing what he sees through patterns and numbers – and his struggling father who aids the boy in ensuring that certain lives cross at the proper time.  I went to bed that night knowing I had to be up at 3:45 am to catch another cab at 4:30 am for this 6:00 am flight.

Awaking the next morning, I got ready for the long day ahead and packed some last minute items.  As I was going about this task, a verse from the Book of Genesis exploded into my mind in song form – thanks to all those years of listening to GT and the Halo Express – Genesis 1:27, so I began to hum and sing it as I went about my business.  In short order I received a text message to my phone informing me the taxi I scheduled was en-route to my location.  I hurried out the door with bags and walker to meet the taxi in front of my apartment building.  As I approached the car, I noticed the identification number: 127.  I stopped, looked again, smiled, and got in the car; maybe I WAS about to live a television episode.

Upon arrival to the airport, personnel were kind enough to get me through the security line quickly and no TSA agent went rummaging through my carry-on to inspect the lightsaber traveling within.  Past security, I stopped for breakfast at the McDonald’s near my departure gate and had to execute the child-like stunt  of sneaking under the barrier to get in line.  This caught the attention of a man standing in line named Mark, who helped me pass the barrier once he caught on to what I was doing; there aren’t too many in line for McDonald’s at the airport at 5 am on a Thursday.  We got to talking about still being child-like when you grow older and the wonderful gentleman offered to pay for my breakfast.  It’s afterwards that we began to talk about why he was in town and where he was from.  I learned that he was in town to talk to members of the Minnesota Congressional Delegation about some hunting and conservation issues.  Asking what offices he visited, he mentioned two offices where I knew folks who worked there and we talked about who those people were and my connections to them.  Unfortunately our conversation was cut short as he had to catch his multi-stop flight back to Minnesota.  Reflecting on that, the small voice in the back of my mind insisted I contact him to share the story of my own journey with no idea the effect such a tale might have.  Considering the last time that clearly happened, a “chance” meeting which lead to The FENX Project appearing on NBC around the country, I have complied with that prompting and hopefully it encourages him in the midst of a world where there is less and less to smile about.

On a lesser note, during my flight I heard a young lady in my row ask the person next to her why it was that the “superhero base” in The Avengers was a “flying, invisible boat.”  I seized the opportunity to set her strait and explain it’s from the comic books and you need to sometimes do things to keep the fanboys happy; besides, it is Joss Whedon we’re talking about.  As one friend later remarked to me, “And you wondered why you were on that flight…”  With this whole “adventure within an adventure” behind me, who knows what next week at Lake Ann Camp might bring, but I know I’ll be meeting some folks for the first time whom I am meant to connect with.

Riding Towards Eternity,

Aaron

Comments
  1. akrohn2010 says:

    You just never know, do you? Miss you, bud.

  2. Aunt Kara says:

    You never cease to amaze me, my dear nephew.

  3. […] to show them that "the impossible can become possible…"  It felt a little bit like living an episode of Touch…again. Probably the best airline conversation I've ever had; who knew the neutral zone would ever be so […]

  4. […] with more time than I need as I rarely run though the airport in danger of missing a flight, although that happened recently.  Only once have I actually run the length of an airport – with the walker – to ensure […]

Leave a Reply

