The FENX and Giving Life: Maybe I should have asked for that Midichlorian Count…

Posted: March 15, 2012 in Comic Boos/Superheroes, Star Wars, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

To break the chains of routine or elude the bonds of habit, sometimes people do something spontaneous, acting on a whim.  It’s never been better captured than in the words of Sheldon Cooper on The Big Bang Theory:  “What’s Life without Whimsy?”  I did a bit of that this week when I decided to give blood for the first time.  I know it doesn’t sound all that earth shattering, but when you’re the one who tried to give blood in High School and were told “there’s not enough ‘you’ in you” – I think the reference was to a lack of mass multiplied by the acceleration of gravity, not a lack of awesome – then being of the proper combination of those two components is “kinda a big deal”.

My apprehension grew when I started investigating the whole procedure, wanting to make sure that I wasn’t missing a step somewhere.  Asking a donor to bring a list of all the pills you’re currently taking gave me pause as I scribbled it all out on a post-it I ended up not needing (thought that might knock me out of the running – first physics, now biology…you’d think I hated science, but then there are probably folks who would want my blood for the very reason of what was in it…).  Is it bad when one of the volunteers tells you they’re ready to start and you’re not because you are intently reading the list of medications to make sure you aren’t taking something that would prevent you from donating?   (At least my Mom will smile and laugh internally if she ever reads that; because I almost always read that sort of stuff…comprehension is another matter.)  Then came the questions.  Some folks are probably glad that you answer them on a computer because answering yes to some of that stuff to another person could be embarrassing, then again if I answered those questions the person asking might think I grew up in Puritania, Peralandra, or some other non-Earth place that CS Lewis wrote about (hint: I think that really only leaves one).

Lifting myself into the big black bed-chair, much to the surprise of the volunteer who was content to stick a huge needle in my arm, I recalled the exclamation of Wedge Antilles in Star Wars Episode IV upon seeing the Death Star:  “Look at the size of that thing” – it was quite the needle.  I was just glad there was so “Echo Base, this is Rouge Two, I’ve found ’em” in connection to trying to find a workable vein.  I guess there IS an advantage to being small and “Hobbit-ish”  Watching the application of the iodine brought back many memories from hospital days gone by, but the person working on me thought I was a bit too fixated there, I told her not to worry. It was at this moment I considered asking her to do a Midichlorian count; if the Force really was strong with this one, we’d know why, but I held my tongue.  (If I had asked, and she thought I had some mental condition I am pretty sure it wasn’t going to be “Awesome-itis” – no matter how often I would be ok with such a diagnosis.)

As the life began to flow out of me in hopes of one day helping to give the same to another in great need of it, I couldn’t help but think of the statement in Leviticus 17:  “The Life is in The Blood…” and the old hymn “There’s Power in the Blood”.  When the process was over, I certainly felt different, like something had honestly left me.  I began to understand in a small way the miracle that was Christ healing the women who had been suffering from bleeding for twelve years, understanding a bit better when Christ asked, “who touched Me?” because He felt something leave him and be imparted to the woman.  What’s more, and this is the most obvious one, you gain a bit more perspective on why Christians celebrate Easter when you do this:  give of yourself in this way to help save another.  Mere luck this experience happened during Lent?  As Obi-Wan wisely quipped” “In my experience there’s no such thing as luck”  As Ken Rudolph taught me years ago at Lake Ann Camp:  the words of Revelation 12:7 “And they overcame the Dragon by the blood of the Lamb…”

My pastor, Mark Batterson, has talked more than once about this idea of ‘The Tribe of the Transplanted”:  a concept coined by Charles Siebert after witnessing heart transplants.  He uses this term to describe how those who have been given successful heart transplants feel a deeper appreciation for life and how they often take on the desires of the person the transplant came from.  It’s crazy to think about, but I wonder if it ever works with transfusions too, and if some of my love for life and things like Heroes and making the most of the time I have on Jarsoom (Earth) could get passed to another as a positive cotangent in some sort of metaphysical miracle.  Don’t know, but it’s fun to ruminate on, much like thinking about sound waves at the edge of the Cosmos still creating because of God speaking the universe into existence and the properties of such waves.

Who knows what might happen next time, but there is always adventure in the little things if you look for it…

Leave a Reply

