The FENX, the Phantom Menace, and kids from “across the pond”

Posted: February 11, 2012 in FENX 4.0, Star Wars
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sometimes all I can do is smile and laugh like the Joker at small blessings in life.  Star Wars came roaring back into theatres this weekend with the 3D release of Episode I:  The Phantom Menace.  Naturally, I went to see it – twice.  Driving the FENX to Chinatown this afternoon to meet my friend Isaac for the second screening, the wind was howling and the snow flurries were flying.   It wasn’t until after the film was over and dinner at Fuddrucker’s had concluded that it got really interesting.  As I neared Union Station, I happened upon a group of teenagers from England.  Having never seen anything like the FENX before, their reactions were exclamations of awe, wonder, and one “It’s like Artoo-Deetoo or something”.  At this, I of course stop, pop the canopy, and inform them that I was driving home from just seeing Episode I in the theatre.  Somehow they weren’t that surprised.  As we all continued along the same route, I see one of them running alongside me to keep up and I slow down upon hearing music.  Popping the canopy again I realize the young fellow is playing the Star Wars theme on his phone, and I tell the group “yeah, I actually listen to that a lot when I drive this” to which the chaperone of the group asks “but can you make it in less than twelve parsecs?”    Pausing just for a moment, I tell him “here’s the thing, a parsec is a unit of (and he repeats with me) distance not time”.  Suddenly one of the teenagers shouts to the adult “You just got Star Wars-ed”.

After that, I couldn’t stop laughing as I continued to drive on home into the distance (obviously minus the binary sunset); just another day in the life, I guess.

Riding Towards Eternity,

Aaron

Leave a Reply

