Airplanes, Evacuations, and the FENX 4.1

Posted: April 3, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday morning my brother Seth and I caught a flight at Regan National Airport in DC to Detroit Metro in Michigan. It being a Holiday we have some time off and haven’t seen our parents in a while – perfect time to come home. This flight was probably one of the more interesting ones, as I met a man who was returning home to Minnesota with his family after touring the city with his wife and daughter. We spent some time talking about what he does as a parts supplier with IBM and what I do as a Congressional Staffer and what it’s like to work where I do – mostly in the last few weeks with long days and Health Care.

Eventually we got to talking about Dad and the FENX, which always seems to happen these days. At this point it got interesting as he semi-exclaims “you’re THAT guy, we have pictures of you”. Now I have to admit that the first thing that went though my head was the scene from PCU where John Faverau’s character gets told “don’t be that guy” because he was going to a concert wearing the t-shirt of the band he was going to see. So naturally I asked him what he was referring to and he explained that the day before he and his family were in the office building where I work when the evacuation drill started. (When this happens I get down to the FENX as fast as I can and drive it to the meeting point to check in with security and the rest of my office.) This family must have been ushered out as well. As it turns out, they saw me inside the FENX when the drill was over, waiting to get back into my building, and took pictures of the FENX.

At this point, the rest of the family came in on the story and had a lot of great things to say about Dad and his ability to create things. So I began to share other stories, like the NBC Nightly News Saga – which I am still expectantly waiting to air sometime this Spring/Summer. The whole thing was a unique experence, no doubt, but kind of neat. In the words of Jars of Clay, Crazy Times.

I wish these folks luck in their own adventures, especially their daughter, as she strives after her dream of being a ballerina.

Riding Towards Eternity,

Aaron

Comments
  1. […] from a gentlemen whom I had met on a plane headed to Michigan for Easter this year (and wrote about here) telling me he got to see the FENX piece by NBC and showed it to all his family and friends – […]

Leave a Reply

