Stories from the road…or sidewalk as the case may be…

Posted: July 27, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Where I’m going, I don’t need roads, only sidewalks…

I spend a lot of time in the FENX 4.0; my mornings/early afternoons on the weekends are generally reserved for field testing the range of the FENX 4.0, seeing how far I can take it, trying to negotiate it’s limits and trying to push the envelope a little bit each time I take it out for a spin.  As often happens while I am out driving/testing, I meet people interested in the FENX 4 who often ask questions about it.  Sometimes I will meet people who actually have a real need for the FENX 4 or something like it.

Three weeks ago I I found myself chased down by two different photographers around the Chinatown area of Washington, DC; one was Matt Dunn and the other Ed Callender.  You will see some of their work on this blog as I continue to write and post pictures.

Two weeks ago at Union Station I met a family who was on vacation here in Washington, D.C. as part of a three week RV tour of the east coast of the United States.  The Dad, Mom, and three boys hailed from Israel actually.  The father was in a wheelchair and the mother was in a scooter.   As I began to talk with them, and explain the story of the FENX 4, their countianence changed, a glimmer of hope in their eyes; that one day they could abandon chairs and scooters for something else, something with greater capibilities – something like the FENX 4.

Yesterday, I met a man in a wheelchair who is a quadriplegic with limited use of his arms and hands.  We talked for an hour about life with a handicap and the FENX 4; specifily on how it might be adapted for folks with different disabilities.  This is what the FENX 4 was built for, to expierament in how to best give people hope and dignity through mobility.

Today, I met Senator Sam Brownback, almost by accident.  He was enjoying the national mall with two of his kids and they were rather enamored with it.  So I stopped to talk with the kids and answer questions while at a crosswalk and he started talking and asking questions.  Before too long there was a crowd of about 20 people all around asking questions and taking pictures.  Needless to say I missed my chance to cross when the light changed.  It was neat to meet one of my pro-life heroes though.

FENX IV - Canopy up - angled - HOPE

Riding Towards Eternity,

Aaron

Photo Credit:  Matt Dunn

Leave a Reply

