The FENX 4.0: The Origins Tale

Posted: July 26, 2009 in FENX 4.0, FENX II, FENX III, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

What is the FENX 4.0;  How and why did the FENX 4.0 come into being – this is its origin story.

The FENX 4.0 is a experimental and battery powered scooter built for me by my father to help me get around town as as I live and work in our Nation’s capital, Washington, D.C.

Five years ago – in 2004 – I was almost hit by a motorcycle on my way to class at Cedarville University in Ohio; I was pedaling a larger than life tricycle, which I called “FENX II” – it had a huge bird emblem on the front.  The motorcycle was averted, but I flipped the tricycle.  My father came to take me home to Michgan later that day for Easter weekend.  When I relayed the tale to him of what happened, he offered a suprising revelation – he wanted to build me an electric vehicle which would do a better job of protecting me from what just happened, as well as the elements – winters in Cedarville are a force to be reckoned with.     During the next few days in Michigan we began talking about designs and features.  Dad unvieled the finished product to me during Thanksgiving Break that same year, and we drove it back to Cedarville.  After the first test run I dubbed it the “FENX III”.  The whole concept shocked Cedarville, as no one had seen anything like this before.  After graduation the following spring, the FENX III got a long respite.  In the spring of 2006, when I arrived in DC to work on Capitol Hill, the FENX III came along, as my father and I had a dream of crusing down the National Mall with it.  In accomplishing that dream, we realized the FENX III wasn’t configured for life in DC – so Dad went back to the drawing board.

Fast Forward to Summer 2009 – after three years of designing, building, testing, and re-working – countless hours of love expressed through creativity and physical labor, the FENX 4.0 arrived in DC for good.  There were some trail periods of on the ground testing in late 2008, but on June 29th 2009, the FENX 4.0 took to the National Mall again.  To say the FENX 4.0 has drawn attnetion would be an understatement.  I always have to allot extra time when I go somewhere because people always have questions and I do my best to answer them.

As the adventure continues,  so will this space filled with pictures, videos, observations, and stories of the folks I meet on my travels around our Nation’s Capital. For, as Lewis said,” [This] has only been the cover and the title page…”

Feel free to send any thoughts or comments to FENX04@gmail.com

Riding towards eternity.

Comments
  1. [...] despite his physical challenges. Welty chronicles the origins of his electric vehicle at the FENX Project blog [...]

  2. [...] despite his physical challenges. Welty chronicles the origins of his electric vehicle at the FENX Project blog [...]